You have been warned by the first band trailer that LETTERS FROM THE COLONY‘s debut album ‘Vignette’ (out on February 16th) is the thing you need to own, if you want to play with the cool kids.

Today, the progressive extreme metal architects launch the second trailer for their upcoming full length release and unveil the scandalous background of some of their band members – in particular their ex-bassist and current guitarist Johan Jönsegård, who had to quit his position, after it was simply to dangerous for him, before Emil Östberg bravely took his place. Watch the clip with the first impressive live snippets of these Swedes and singer Alexander Backlund discussing the album lyrics and the main target audience while repairing bicycles and waiting for his second Lamborghini:

‘Vignette’ is now available for pre-order and you can get the physical editions of the new album here:

Stream or download the new single directly here:

Check out the album track listing below:

01. Galax (8:20)

02. Erasing Contrast (4:49)

03. The Final Warning (5:57)

04. This Creature Will Haunt Us Forever (1:38)

05. Cataclysm (4:59)

06. Terminus (6:53)

07. Glass Palaces (6:37)

08. Sunwise (4:14)

09. Vignette (12:12)

LETTERS FROM THE COLONY build upon the intersection between perfection and ordered chaos; the unbridled joy of experimentation and virtuosic instrument mastery and create their new niche compartment of technically challenging extreme metal. They deliver highly complex songs full of unbound aggression and progressive structures in the vein of MESHUGGAH, OPETH or GOJIRA and also do not shy away from playing saxophone with a guitar or sampling the call of a deer into a track!


Alexander Backlund – Vocals

Sebastian Svalland – Guitar

Johan Jönsegård – Guitar

Emil Östberg – Bass

Jonas Sköld – Drums