UNFD is thrilled to announce the signing of Melbourne five-piece Thornhill. To celebrate, the band has dropped brand new single “Reptile”, lifted from their forthcoming EP, Butterfly, set for release on February 16.

On signing to UNFD, Thornhill said: “We were wearing UNFD shirts in year 10 at our Inter-School Battle of the Bands. To get a signing offer three years later was absolutely surreal. We are equal parts nervous and excited to show everyone this release through a label that we’ve looked up to for years.

Much like the life of a butterfly, Thornhill have experienced a complete metamorphosis in their short time together. Thornhill’s second EP sees the Melbourne five-piece emerge from the chrysalis with six new songs that mark the next phase of their alternative metalcore evolution.

Butterfly is an immense yet intricate soundtrack that takes an introspective look at the experiences of a 20-year-old. With inspirational touchstones of Karnivool, Radiohead and Jeff Buckley, the songs on Butterfly intelligently weave through layers of complexity that challenge genre boundaries and put sharp focus on their musicianship.

After the band – comprising of Jacob Charlton (vocals), Ethan McCann (guitar), Ben Maida (drums), Nick Sjogren (bass) and Matt Van Duppen (guitar) – graduated from high school, Thornhill played their first show with Hellions. As a collective, they were only three months old at the time, but they grew rapidly from there, playing shows with the likes of Void of Vision and their bucket list bands Northlane and Architects, and will soon share a stage with In Hearts Wake and Parkway Drive. They also found themselves on triple j rotation and Unearthed Feature Artist in November 2017.


Butterfly” is out February 16 via UNFD And You Can Order It Here!