San Francisco Bay Area metal titans MACHINE HEAD, have released their highly anticipated new album “Catharsis” on January 26 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

Now, the worldwide chart positions are in, including three Top 5, two Top 10 and five Top 20 entries. “Catharsis” also holds the highest ever entries for the band in Germany, Switzerland, Scotland and Spain.

USA #17

Frontman / guitarist Robb Flynn adds, “The chart positions coming in from around the globe are nothing short of incredible. The Head Cases of the world really made a show of force this week. But I gotta give an extra-special shout-out to the Head Cases of America. They stood their ground through a veritable hurricane of negativity, belligerent-ass reviews, and straight up online extremist-hate mudding the waters. To ignore all that and stand by YOUR band means more than you will ever know. You deserve to be applauded so fucking loudly our hands should hurt from clapping and our throats from cheering.”

“We are unbelievably grateful to you.”

“And this news on the same day that Best Buy announces they will stop selling CD’s altogether!” ⠀

“Feeling proud… and so should you be Head Cases!”⠀ 

“Catharsis” was produced by Robb Flynn and recorded, mixed, and co-produced by Zack Ohren (FallujahAll Shall Perish) at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, CA. Mastering was handled by Ted Jensen (HatebreedAlice In ChainsDeftones) at Sterling Sound, New York, NY. Cover photography was created by Seanen Middleton.

“I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album. And it needs to… now more than ever. A lot of consideration went into making these songs more identifiable to a wider audience. Simplifying ideas, simplifying hooks, really concentrating on story-telling as opposed to ’brutal poetry‘ or whatever. And while I‘d love to say it was all some grand plan, there was no ’plan‘” Flynn adds laughing.

“You never know where you’re going to end up whenever you start writing a record… you just write… but I tell ya what… we ended up with a landmark here. Whenever you finish an album, you always feel proud, but this time… we’ve got something really special. We can feel it. We know it. “Catharsis” could really elevate our genre.”

To order “Catharsis” in various formats (CD, Digipak, CD-Digi + DVD + 2LP Boxset, black, picture, red, dark blue, bi-colored, splatter vinyl), visit here.

“Catharsis” track listing:
1. Volatile
2. Catharsis
3. Beyond The Pale
4. California Bleeding
5. Triple Beam
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Bastards
8. Hope Begets Hope
9. Screaming At The Sun
10. Behind A Mask
11. Heavy Lies The Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy