Following last year’s acclaimed EP Always Hell, dark post-punk trio FOTOCRIME have announced the details for their debut full-length album, ‘Principle Of Pain’. FOTOCRIME is the creation of singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist R (aka Ryan Patterson, longtime tentpole of the Louisville music scene). Set for a May 18 release on Golden Antenna Records (USA release on Patterson’s own Auxiliary Records), Principle Of Pain boldly returns drum machines and analog synthesizer sequencing to the forefront of the guitar-rock landscape, resulting in an album that confidently displays a mastery of song craft and stylistic range while crafting an distinct sonic identity.

Written and demoed in his home studio over the course of a year, R shared his work with no one before traveling to Baltimore to record the album with producer J. Robbins, a friend and collaborator of nearly two decades. The album was completed with contributions from a small handful of friends, including future FOTOCRIME band members Shelley Anderson and Nick Thieneman. The stunning original album cover artwork was painted by Chicago-via-Barcelona artist Noelia Towers, renowned for her beautiful, challenging artwork depicting elements of BDSM and feminine power. An in-demand painter and apparel designer, this is her first commissioned album artwork.

Principle Of Pain is a deeply personal album, the singular work of an artist traversing the peaks and valleys of his obsessions, loves, and fears soundtracked by massive beats, warm synths, and guitars that veer from chiming cleans to blown out fuzz.


1. Nadia (Last Year’s Men)
2. Love in a Dark Time
3. Don’t Pity the Young
4. The Rose and the Thorn
5. Autonoir
6. Gods in the Dark
7. Enduring Chill
8. Infinite Hunger For Love
9. Confusing World
10. The Soft Skin