Echoes of another world resound from the depths of the legendary rabbit hole. Music diffused with moments of silence and escapist dream sequences, freed from time and earthly presence.

AURI begun its life with three people, united through their shared need to hear a kind of a music which can’t be described by words alone. A magical kind of sound to be heard whilst falling down Alice’s rabbit hole. The Finnish singer Johanna Kurkela lent her unique voice, while Troy Donockley and Tuomas Holopainen (both NIGHTWISH) cast their spells with various other instruments. Using selected guest musicians and friends, the album finally takes its ultimate form under the direction of sound engineer Tim Oliver, all within the pastoral splendor of ‘Real World’ studios in Southern England. The album will be out on March, 23 and available as digipak CD, 2LP gatefold Vinyl, a limited Earbook and digital.

A question that keeps cropping up for the band is ’where did the name AURI come from?‘. In today’s new album trailer, the trio explain if there is any connection to Patrick Rothfuss‘ trilogy The Kingkiller Chronicle and the character named Auri. Watch the trailer here:

Troy comments: “It suited just perfectly, it suited the direction and the dream of music that we always had so it was just a perfect name.” Johanna adds: “Yeah, I mean music just makes you feel that there is this magic still existing in the world, you can’t really explain why you feel the way you do when you hear a song. It could open the flood inside of you and make you start crying or laughing – it’s MAGIC!

In case you’ve missed the first album trailer, make sure to watch it here:

Watch “Night 13“‘ here:

Or watch the lyric video of their 2nd single “The Space Between” here:

Tracklist Auri:

01. The Space Between
02. I Hope Your World Is Kind
03. Skeleton Tree
04. Desert Flower
05. Night 13
06. See
07. The Name Of The Wind
08. Aphrodite Rising
09. Savant
10. Underthing Solstice
11. Them Thar Chanterelles