Ontario’s HATRED REIGNS unleash to the metal world their debut EP “Realm: I – Affliction” out now as of May 25th.

This 3 song EP takes songs from their future full-length concept album that recants the travels of a damned soul to purgatory where their fate will be determined as they face numerous challenges along the way.

Guitarist Jeff Calder explains the writing and inspiration for the album:

“Lyrics were written by Brandon Mayhew (guitarist) and me. The concept was inspired by Dante’s Inferno and movie ‘What Dreams May Come’ (the book is not as similar to the film) while giving our own twist and personal interests on the theme.”

So far through private listening parties, the EP has been well received by fans across metal sub-genres and the band is very excited to show off the final product, especially live and on CD, which is why the band will be celebrating its physical release on May 27th supporting the Indiemerch Devastation On The Nation Tour in Ottawa with Aborted, Psycroptic, Ingested, Disentomb, Arkaik, Venom Prison and Vale of Pnath (info here).

“Realm” I – Affliction” was recorded, mixed and mastered by Dark Moon Productions and drums were engineered by Geoff McNeely & Joe “Moon” Lyko at Raven Street Studios.

“Realm” I – Affliction” is available for full stream and download on Bandcamp, iTunes, Spotify and all other major retailers.

Single “In Anguish”:

Show Dates:
May 27 – Ottawa, ON – Mavericks – info
w/ Aborted, Pyscroptic, Ingested, Disentomb, Arkaik, Venom Prison, Vale of Pnath, Gland
June 23 – Pembroke, ON – Nelson Street Pub – info
June 29 – Ottawa, ON – Mavericks – info

Track Listing:
1. In Anguish (4:29)
2. Pain Leads To Nothingness (3:57)
3. Planes Divide (4:13)
EP Length: 12:40

Album / Live Band Line Up:
Brandon Mayhew – Vocals
Jeff Calder – Guitars
Adam Semler – Guitars & Vocals
Kyle Hnatyshin – Bass
Eric Cooper Lefebvre – Drums

For more info: