‘Cosmovore’ is the debut full-length album from Bay Area death metal trio, ULTHAR – featuring within its ranks Shelby Lermo (Vastum, Extremity), Justin Ennis (Void Omnia, Ruine, ex-Mutilation Rites, ex-Tombs), and Steve Peacock (Mastery, Pandiscordian Necrogenesis). Out NOW via 20 Buck Spin, Cosmovore was engineered, recorded, and mixed by Greg Wilkinson (Brainoil, Deathgrave, Vastum, Noothgrush) at Earhammer Studios in Oakland, California, mastered by Justin Weis at Trackworx, and unleashes the feral urgency of dizzying, Absu-like black metal with the bludgeoning ferocity of classic death metal.

Thematically heavy on weird, supernatural horror and a bizarre Rudimentary Peni surrealism, ULTHAR is a difficult to classify spectral entity.

Stream ‘Cosmovore’ is its entirety at THIS LOCATION.

Cosmovore is available on CD, LP, cassette, and all digital formats. For physical orders, go to THIS LOCATION. For digital orders go HERE.

In related news, ULTHAR is presenting its own radio show for two hours today, Wednesday, November 14th at 2:00pm PST / 5:00pm EST (and repeating Monday, November 19th at 8:00am PST / 11:00am EST and Thursday, November 22nd at 6:00pm PST / 9:00pm EST) via Gimme Radio. For further info, visit the Gimme Radio website at gimmeradio.com.

In conjunction with the release of CosmovoreULTHAR will kick off a four-date Pacific Northwest tour this week beginning Thursday in Eugene, Oregon with additional live adventures in the plotting stages.

ULTHAR:

11/15/2018 Old Nick’s Pub – Eugene, OR

11/16/2018 Highline Bar – Seattle, WA

11/17/2018 Twilight Café And Bar – Portland, OR

11/18/2018 The Siren’s Song Tavern – Eureka, CA

Over the course of Cosmovore‘s forty-minute run time speeds careen forward at primarily unrelenting velocity, the opening title track instantly battering with primal persistence. The album’s middle section, a blinding storm of ghastly black dread, leads into the thirteen-plus-minute closing epic “Dunwich Whore” where the ULTHAR universe becomes all-consuming with proggy synth bookends, vertiginous tempo variation, grinding technical violence, and thrashed madness.

Tying it all together is the gripping cover art of famed UK illustrator Ian Miller, known for his work with the Warhammer games, Lovecraft books, Ralph Bakshi films, and more.Yet another stellar debut album released under the 20 Buck Spin banner, ULTHAR‘s Cosmovore stands as the monstrous opening salvo of a band only beginning to wage war. Fans of Absu, Immortal, early Atrocity, early Pestilence, Demilich, Morbid Angel, Gorguts, and labelmates Tomb Mold should tune in to ULTHAR‘s deft execution.