Combining influences from Tool, Mastodon, The Agonist, Gojira and A Perfect Circle; Vancouver progressive metal band KOSM‘s sound is dynamic and unquestionably lethal. Since their induction in 2016, they have been making their mark on Vancouver’s metal scene and beyond with cover videos along with singles “Ancient Heart” and “Space Mead”. Set to unleash their debut album “Cosmonaut”, a release loosely based on themes from stories by H.P. Lovecraft and others, the band is ready to reveal it in full with the premiere of its stream on Decibel Magazine HERE.

The band explains “Cosmonaut”:

“Cosmonaut is a concept album loosely based on the weird-fiction of HP Lovecraft, and borrowing concepts from the science-fiction of Frank Herbert, and Roger Zelazny. The album follows a cosmonaut on a cosmic journey through time and space; from the earthly confines of mortal life, to ascendancy as an immaterial and omnipotent being. The cosmonaut’s journey is essentially symbolic, serving as a commentary on the human experience: a journey from confusion and anger, to transcendence and self-understanding.”

“Cosmonaut” will be released on November 16th and available on all major digital platforms BandcampiTunesSpotifyAmazonGoogle Play.

Lyric Video – “The Esoteric Order”:

Music Video “Ancient Heart”:

For those in the Vancouver area, KOSM will be hosting their CD release concert at Pub 340 on Saturday, November 17th with local support from OmnisighT, Truent, and Opus Arise. Event info here.

Track Listing:
1. Space Mead (6:07)
2. Cosmonaut (5:27)
3. Colossus (6:38)
4. Wolves Upon The Throne (5:46)
5. The Esoteric Order (6:23)
6. Farseer (6:40)
7. Ancient Heart (5:23)
8. Fiefdom In The Sky (2:15)
9. Omnipresence (4:36)
10. Monarch (7:16)
11. Umbrakinesis (5:23)
12. Wza – Y’ei (4:20)
Album Length: 1:06:21

KOSM is:
Erik Leonhard – Guitar
Mike Slater – Guitar
Jessie Grace – Vocals
Sterling Paterson – Drums
Michael Mastracci – Bass

For more info: